Which way does the path take us?

Remember the best bus stop in Christchurch that I mentioned in my previous post. Here it is again from a different view point.Still no bus?

I am looking at it from across the road in Erica Reserve. The Reserve is a continuation of the restored natural habitat we visited yesterday. It includes a playground and picnic tables and room to run and jump and squeal, none of which we did because it was such a languid afternoon.

Instead we watched ducks being ducky and listened to water gliding by with a little ripple and chortle here and there. Ducks on Water

And we let the warm breeze float over and around us and rustle off  over the stream and through the trees.The rustles of the breezeWe sat on the park bench and wondered if we could hear the grass grow. I can't hear you. But we couldn’t. We listened so very closely and carefully  yet  our ears were too dull to catch a single sound.

So we sat in silence on the park bench and absorbed the sunshine in the gentle company of another seeker of sun.Let the sunshine in

At the end, or may be it is the beginning, of the Erica Reserve pathway there is a bridge Bridge to start, end or journey on through across the stream and some wetland ponds. To the right of the water pools is a retirement home, or village as the owners like to call such places. It looked very tranquil in its restored wetland setting.  Thinking of all the work and repairs awaiting at home, I was almost tempted to knock on the door and ask “May I come in?”Where to from here?But, then, I remembered the elderly gentlemen we talked to, yesterday, on the pathway across the road on the other side of the bus shelter. He lived in another retirement village close by.  He said “It’s a fine place. It’s really the best place for me but, you know, it’s not like home.”

So we stretched and eased ourselves slowly off the park bench and went home for a fine supper of chicken, followed by apple sponge pudding.

© silkannthreades

13 thoughts on “Which way does the path take us?

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. Glad you came on the journey. In that little place I am not quite sure where the journey starts or ends, or if it matters. I have looked on a map to see if I can trace the water/stream but I can’t see its beginning or end either. Somehow, it is just there and then it isn’t anymore.

      Reply
  1. ordinarygood

    I love the look of the bus stop from this angle – it has a “pagoda” look about it. We hope for the sounds of water flowing again this week if the rain does arrive here….we really hope it does arrive.

    Thank goodness that being out in nature eases our burdens.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, it does look like a pagoda! More rain is needed. I see the West Coast of the South Island is now a drought area. The grassy area in Erica Reserve is very green but I think that is because it grows on an area with a great deal of underlying wetness.

      Reply
      1. ordinarygood

        The grape harvest in Hawkes Bay is looking brilliant apparently. I guess there is always an up side to things. But more regular rain is needed all over the country it would seem.

        Reply
  2. leapingtracks

    How funny that, having mentioned to you in a comment on another post that I have just moved house, I come on to read this one and find that it has as one theme the issue of one’s home. I guess in a world of impermanence and constant change it is important not to get too attached to anything, but there is nothing like one’s own space. The pleasure of sleeping at home instead of in a hotel room when travelling with work is but one example.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      From time to time, home ownership can seem onerous but, with a little distance (like your many hotel rooms and my excursion!), I soon realise I am blessed to have my own space. I enjoyed my conversation with the elderly gentleman but felt so sad when he talked about his home. I almost wanted to say “Come to mine. I have plenty of room.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

