Recreation in restoration

Welcome to the best (as in the most beautiful) bus stop in Christchurch. It is on Grants Road in the suburb of Papanui.A beautiful bus stop!

From the bus shelter, it’s a short, short walk to the sculptured entrance way to one of our city’s treasures; a walkway that follows a waterway that was once little more than a drain. With careful planning and planting over the years, the waterway has been transformed into a lush habitat full of thriving native plants.

The entrance way Sculptured Entrance

The sculpture represents a restored waterway with all its many forms of life.

Swirls

Here is the waterway in its abundant new form.Happy waterWhere are the ducks?

Considering how little rain we have had, you can see, by the amount of water still in the waterway, that proper planting of riparian areas does help conserve water. Proper planting

Whichever way you look, there are rich vistas of native plants Plants and more plantsAlong the path

Our city council receives its share of fair and unfair criticism especially in these stressful post earthquake times. Today, I want to praise the council and their workers, and all the hard-working ratepayers, who make possible wonderful walkways like this. We had a jewel of an afternoon under glorious blue skies gently warmed by the autumn sun.Jewel of an afternoon

© silkannthreades

33 thoughts on “Recreation in restoration

  1. Clanmother

    I have come back a couple of times to take a good look at the artistry that begins with a bus stop – public transportation. To me, that says it all. This walkway and art belongs to everyone. I agree – you have a great council.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, public transportation is so important. We hope that our new post earthquake city will have public transport and cycleways that are the envy of the world. Dreaming big, you understand.

      Reply
  2. ordinarygood

    Riparian planting seems so simple and sensible doesn’t it…..once you know about it. Thank you for the photos showing me how a drain can be transformed. And I see you have another post from that area. I’m off to read that one now:-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      It seems simple but I was looking at all the council and consultation documents involved in the planting plans and after two pages of reading my head was hurting with all the details. I was just happy to enjoy the outcome of the policy and processes.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I tried to take a video for my post so you would be able to get a better picture of our environment. Put I deleted it when I tried to load it on to my computer. That was my first attempt ever, so I obviously need more practice. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Letizia

    What a beautiful walkway and bus stop. I love when everyday architecture such as bus stops are interesting and beautiful, enriching our lives rather than draining them!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      As far as I know, this is the only bus stop of its kind in Christchurch. The rest of them are pleasant enough in style but are relentlessly vandalised. This one seems to survive relatively unscathed. So does that make vandalism an angry protest at boring and/or ugly?

      Reply
  4. Mrs. P

    That is beautiful. I hope those residents are enjoying the new path behind their homes. I find most people who travel paths like this are very well mannered and respectful of people living nearby.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I think so too. The path is adjacent to a retirement complex and the senior citizens from there enjoy using it, as do school children walking or biking to/from school. People seem to stop and greet each other which they rarely do if they are bustling along a sidewalk.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am glad. After completing the post I discovered that Friday 22 March is World Water Day. I accidentally chose the right subject to write on for this day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

