Playing the waiting game

In Christchurch, these days, we are learning to play the waiting game. We wait for insurance companies. We wait for repairs. We wait for phone calls, and on phone calls. We wait in traffic. We wait for businesses to reopen, for buildings to be restored or built. We wait for plumbers and carpenters.  We wait in lines of traffic and we wait for rain……..sometimes we play the game well and with patience; other times, not so much. Our health authorities, worried about the stress levels, particularly the ones generated in those “other times’, has launched a campaign called All Right? (http://www.cdhb.govt.nz/communications/media/2013/130225.htm) ( http://www.allright.co.nz/ )

Today, after almost a week at home waiting for workmen and assessors, and for the house to dry out, we finally decided it would be all right to venture out for some early autumn sunshine. No one was scheduled to visit the house after 3pm, so we were free to flee.

We went to a favourite spot; Mona Vale. Funny thing was that, when we were there, everywhere I looked, I seemed to be surrounded by signs and scenes of waiting. I was still involved in a waiting game.  Follow my photos and see what I mean.

Waiting to fall Waiting to fall

Waiting on a bridge for a breeze to a final destinationWaiting for a breeze

Waiting to fly Waiting for the moment to fly

Waiting for an audienceWaiting for the audience  Waiting for a meal; or a dusterWaiting for a meal

Waiting for Hilda; a special seat for someone’s special great-grandmother from CanadaWaiting for HildaHilda's place

Waiting for someone to remember where they left itNow where did I file it?

So how did you find that variation on the waiting game? Am I playing it well?   Am I doing all right?

© silkannthreades

22 thoughts on “Playing the waiting game

  1. Pingback: Amazing words | silkannthreades

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. Pleased you enjoyed them. By the way, you might be interested to know that I once lived in Botswana but didn’t ever have the opportunity to visit South Africa 😦

      Reply
      1. Tracy Rhynas

        Interesting indeed! Funny thing is, I have lived in South Africa for 20 years and have never visited Botswana! But it is on my list of things to do… I would love to go up to Chobe. Did you enjoy your time on Botswana? Somewhat off the subject, my hubby told me yesterday that the Marmite factory in Christchurch was destroyed by the earthquake, and it has now been rebuilt and re-opened but you are on rations as to how many pots of Marmite you can buy??? (In our house, as long as we have Marmite in the cupboard there is order in the world!!)

        Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Yes it was a crisis! Although I was not bothered because I am a vegemite fan. Marmite is on the shelves again. All must be well. One of my early, early posts is on the factory and its rebuild. I haven’t been by there lately. The factory has beautiful gardens. And, yes, we loved Botswana. Actually got married in Gaborone 🙂

  2. melodylowes

    I like how you saw everything as a waiting game. Canadians are pretty good at that game, too. 🙂 I like the window waiting for a meal or a good cleaning….

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You practice waiting through the long winter! Yes, my orderly instinct is to dust away cobwebs, but then I think how soul destroying for the poor spider who is simply trying to catch a meal as creatively as possible. I wouldn’t like it if someone came along and smashed one of my beautiful pots or plates 😀

      Reply
  3. Clanmother

    I am delighted that there is a Canadian connection in your hometown!!!
    “It is very strange that the years teach us patience – that the shorter our time, the greater our capacity for waiting.”
    ― Elizabeth Taylor, A Wreath of Roses

    Reply
  4. tableofcolors

    Loved your post! It brought to mind Dr. Seuss’s book “Oh, the places you’ll go” and the place he tells about where everyone is waiting, “…waiting for the fish to bite, or waiting for wind to fly a kite, or waiting around for Friday night, or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake, or a pot to boil, or a Better Break, or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants, or a wig with curls, or Another Chance. Everyone is just waiting.

    NO! That’s not for you! Somehow you’ll escape, all that waiting and staying. You’ll find the bright places where Boom Bands are playing.” 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That is so interesting and amusing. I read that story, a long, long, long time ago but I had completely forgotten the words. Perhaps those ideas and words have been floating around in my head for years and years just waiting to reappear with my own interpretation. Now I better go and find some Boom Bands!

      Reply
  5. ordinarygood

    Patience rewarded! Well step one anyway towards your home repairs.
    I really enjoyed your story here and I particularly liked the cormorant awaiting his audience.

    Reply
  6. Sofia

    Nice post – the waitinggame and how you described it in both words and photos! beautiful naturephotos and especially the butterfly… I can’t wait to see a butterfly here soon.

    Reply
  7. Mrs. P

    I love this! It’s like the world around you understands what you’re going through. Perfect captions for each picture…very thoughtful!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. The best news is that I have waited patiently and the builder selected by my insurance company is coming tomorrow to take measurements for the repair work in the house.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

