Testing my resolve

In my previous post, I wrote about choosing joy and enjoying the gifts of the present day. Today, my choice of the joyous path has been tested. I haven’t been found wanting but it has been hard work keeping a smile on my face, and merriness in my mind, BECAUSE, today, a piece of the upstairs shower plumbing sprung a leak and caused mayhem. For me, mayhem meant flooded carpets upstairs, a flooded upstairs bathroom floor as well as a wet ceiling in our downstairs bedroom. It also meant a frantic call to the plumber and a less frantic, but more protracted, call to the insurance company, plus the releasing of an excess payment to said insurance company.

The cause of the mayhem seems to be a fault in the shower mixer.Mixing up Mayhem

Thanks to Sven, the plumber, the leak has been isolated and contained .You've been contained Thanks to Johan, the carpet technician, the carpet has been suctioned and is now in the process of being dried by three large driers.Sucking up the Floodwaters The next step is to await a visit from the insurance assessor, hopefully before the end of the week. And, then, sometime, in never never land, the upstairs shower will be usable again.

I am not optimistic about a completion date for the repair work because most of the tradespeople are fully occupied with earthquake reconstruction. For example, I have been waiting almost six months for some other work to be done in the house. And my fence, which broke in the February 2011 earthquake, remains broken although the assessor did come to look at it about six months back.  Mostly, we have to shrug and smile as rebuilding and repairing priority is rightly given to those with seriously damaged homes or no home at all.

So, hooray, hooray, what a happy day, I sing to myself as I set to my next task which is to fill out the census forms. Today, amongst other things, is census day.

The census form asks us to fill in the blank spaces. I think if I opened out the forms and laid them end to end they would fill up this blank space quite well.Fill in the blank space

© silkannthreades

32 thoughts on “Testing my resolve

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving from afar | silkannthreades

  2. Virginia Duran

    Oh! This is horrible! Water and buildings have never been a good combination. This day to day disasters test indeed our patience. You are a very positive person as I’ve noticed so far so even if in that moment you were angry you should keep that positive attitude for the next weeks. My thoughts are with you and I really hope you get your carpet fixed as well. Patience is a virtue 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. We are all dried out now. It is amazing how such a small amount of water can make so much mess. I am hoping the repair work can be done before winter gets here. Fingers crossed.

      Reply
  3. gpcox

    Oh, how awful! We had a flood here last year and I know what we went thru with wringing the car out and getting it fixed, I can’t imagine what you’ve been thru.

    Reply
  4. Marylin Warner

    I am so sorry you’re going through this. I have a mold allergy, and any water damage would have me be in bad shape. You seem to have a calm attitude and a strength to take it one day at a time, and I wish you wonderful surprises that move this along faster.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, mold is terrible stuff. The technician wanted to put the big air drier in our bedroom to dry the ceiling but I said all that air blowing around in that space would probably trigger my asthma, so we are at an impasse on that situation. Windows open seems to be the solution for the moment.

      Reply
  5. vsperry

    For some reason I am really tickled by the fact that your plumber’s name is Sven. Hang in there, it’s really just a blip in the grand scheme of things. Annoying, somewhat life-altering and more work than you really want at this moment…yes, but someday it will be a memory.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am glad you liked the name Sven too. I so rarely meet a Sven that I just had to mention it. With Sven and Johan in charge, the house felt very continental for awhile. Whilst we were waiting for various things to dry, Sven had lots of questions about my monarch butterflies and my little corn patch. And Johan and I had time to discuss my wall to wall carpet, the merits thereof, and also to talk about my Tibetan hall runner that got soaked as well. And I learnt a few things about plumbing and carpet cleaning too.

      Reply
  6. Mrs. P

    I’m sorry you had to battle the plumbing disaster, If you have a dehumidifier, it will help dry out the rugs faster and help to prevent mold. Hope tomorrow brings happier news.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Luckily it is hot and dry at the moment, so I think everything should dry out well. It will be a test of the anti mould, anti stain qualities of my almost brand new carpet.

      Reply
  7. kiwiskan

    My husband says he hates shower mixers! We had to repair a break in our water line yesterday, but nothing compared to your disaster. But you’ve made all the right moves. Hope your shower is functional again soon, and all goes well. Blessings

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. A friend was saying to me yesterday how silly it was that I had so much water inside the house when it was the garden that really needed it. Your water line broke in the right place! And Life was probably more straightforward before the days of shower mixers.

      Reply
  8. cindy knoke

    Oh dear! So sorry.
    I love the “choose joy,” idea……but that doesn’t mean you have to do it everyday, right? For a couple of days a least, you are encouraged to be higly frustrated. Than when you return to joy it will be that much sweeter.
    This happened to me years ago in another house. You have my sincere empathy.
    ruga****shuga****buga****plumbing & insurance company……
    I don’t like either as well……..
    But we need both I guess and that makes it even more frustrating….you can even swear….I’ll never tell!

    Reply
  9. ordinarygood

    Hmmm wonky shower mixers….been there done that but thankfully with less mess than you discovered. Resolve and breathe…..Sending you good wishes for a better day today….Wednesday:-))

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I am waiting for the carpet technician to come and tell me if we can turn off the driers. Luckily, we have a super hot day today which will help with the dry out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

