Challenging my thinking

I have been feeling a teeny bit  frustrated in recent days because I have a long list of lovely things I want to do and places I want to go, but my gallivanting has been curtailed by domestic activities. The domestic chores are not arduous, or even unpleasant , so why the frustration, I ask myself?  Is it because I am dividing the world in to pleasant and unpleasant, fun and duty, good and bad?  Is it the  old  “you can only play (happy times) once you have done your homework ( dutiful times)” syndrome niggling away in my brain? A variation of the  punishment and reward system that pervades our thinking and our society. Perhaps…..

In an attempt to eliminate frustration and refresh my  thinking, I decided that today I would challenge myself to make the domesticities of  my day as fun and inspiring as my gallivanting.  Here’s a sample of my day’s domestic amusements.

I read the newspaper.I read the news today

I poached some pears.Poached pears

I hung out the washing.Pretty in Pink

I made lunch and enjoyed a cup of my favourite Trade Aid coffee.Coffee Time

I made a pear cakePear Cake

and a loaf of herb bread.Basil Bread

I did some shopping,Shopping by the Bucketful

after which I did a few rows of knitting and read a few pages of the book I was given for Christmas Knitting and Wisdom

Then it was time to bring in the washing, cook the dinner and feed the animals and  walk the dog……..but that’s enough photos for one day.

So , how did I go with my challenge? I had fun. My frustration levels are lower but ,deep down, I suspect that, no matter how hard I try, doing the laundry will never be as inspiring as walk in the park. But, who knows, if I keep challenging myself, anything is possible!

Footnote:

I deliberately chose to photograph the section of the newspaper that covers the State of the Nation report by the Salvation Army. The report says that the Government is not doing enough to reduce child poverty, create jobs or improve housing affordability.  I have not read the report itself but it seems to me that we all need to challenge our thinking on social justice. Our  social policies, put in place, over the years, by the people we vote for, appear to be rooted in the same old punishment and reward type ideologies which have haunted our society forever and a day. This  means that people are inevitably assessed and judged as worthy  or unworthy  of support. The end result is our current society where violent offences against children have increased by 84% in the five years up to July 2012.

© silkannthreades

25 thoughts on “Challenging my thinking

  1. utesmile

    You are such a great cook and I love the pictures, a household day but you make it lovely. The flower in the washing up hanging basket makes it all much nicer. Things have to be done so it is better to enjoy even those chores. I’d love to try that herb bread it looks so so yummy…..Do you have the recipe, is it easy to do? I wonder if you can share it…. I love to have a go at it…:-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you dear Ute. I was trying very hard to make the day beautiful and fun. I made the bread in my bread machine. I am not sure how the measurements would work for hand made bread. Do you have a bread machine? It is a very basic white bread recipe with flour, salt, oil, yeast, and dried basil and water, but it is delicious.

      Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          I can give you the measurements for the bread machine and you can adapt them. You will have to adapt the yeast too. It’s 2tsp of Surebake yeast (which is yeast with improvers in it for bread machine use), 450 gm high grade white flour; 1tsp of salt; 2 Tablespoons of olive oil, 1 Tablespoon of dried basil; 280ml of water. And I imagine you would bake at about 200c for perhaps 30 minutes. Good luck. I do bake bread by hand but haven’t done so with this particular recipe.

  2. ordinarygood

    On days when the household chores become burdensome I keep a little phrase in my head that a wise woman once offered me: “All work is love.” I find it helps. Music is good and a nice coffee -well that has to help.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, that is exactly the sort of phrase that I want hear. All work is love which gives equality to whatever we do. Thank you 🙂 Thinking of music, I am reminded of “Whistle while you work”!

      Reply
  3. Clanmother

    A brilliant post that offers many thoughts to consider! We seek excitement but live in the ordinary! You make this ordinary into extraordinary. When we look outward, our inward thoughts work on solutions….

    Reply
  4. Mrs. P

    Good for you, making work fun!

    I feel fortunate that I have a unique situation at home in that our expenses are relatively low and our need for income is minimal which allows me to work part-time. A few years ago, in a crashed economy, having moved from west coast to east, I found I couldn’t get a job for about nine months. I finally decided the heck with it and decided that there were plenty of well off people who weren’t affected by the crash who needed a housekeeper extraordinaire. I was right and now make more money than I ever made, work less hours and have complete independence over my actions. 🙂 And the bonus, I have the most amazingly awesome husband who won’t allow me to do any work at home…because I work so hard (wink, wink) already. So, who does all the chores…he does. 🙂 🙂

    I get to work just long enough to pay the bills and then do the things I enjoy doing like writing, gardening and various projects. If any asks, he’s retired and I am semi-retired. I actually like to work and find that too many days off and I start to get restless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

