Royal Process

There was much excitement ( for me!) in the royal nursery, yesterday. The first caterpillar successfully negotiated its way to adolescence. I noticed in the morning that one of the caterpillars looked as though it was ready to make a cocoon. I checked again about 2 in the afternoon but nothing had changed. I checked again about 3 hours later and the job was done. I am slightly miffed that I missed the chrysalis process. I need to watch more diligently when I see the next caterpillar preparing for its metamorphosis.Chrysalis

© silkannthreades

21 thoughts on “Royal Process

  1. ordinarygood

    It is a most fascinating process when you get to watch the caterpillar turn into a chrysalis. I love the “gold stitching” on the cocoon – more indicators of a monarch!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I found two more cocoons today. One of them attached to the thyme stems next to the swan plant. I thought that was a very sensible, secure place. Again I missed the actual process!

      Reply
  2. Mrs. P

    Thank you for sharing these pictures with us. I am finding that I am sill as excited about seeing this as I was when I did it wit my class. Great shot, eve with the wind!

    Reply
  3. cindy knoke

    Wonderful photo. I bought my children a monarch butterfly kit as children where they could watch the whole process and let the butterflies go in the end. Fascinating. It would be fun to do this again and photograph it. Great shot!

    Reply
  4. melodylowes

    Aren’t they tricky? I had a chrysalis in my classroom that we watched so very diligently – and then one day, there she was – wings and all, and not one of us caught it. Drat…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

