Where did my brother go?

My little cat, Zoe, is an outdoors cat. She doesn’t usually like to come inside unless it suits her to do so. Yesterday morning, when I opened the front door just an inch or two to collect the newspaper,  she zipped inside and raced upstairs.

About an hour later I went upstairs for something and expected to see the cat in her usual corner on the stairs, but she was in a new position; on the window sill of my daughter’s bedroom.On the look out

She was watching the driveway very intently.An eye on the comings and goings

Then satisfied she had seen enough, she jumped down and explored the bedroom, corner by corner by cupboard.    That done, she moved in to my son’s bedroom and gave that a thorough investigation. Once she had found out all she needed to know she skitty skatted downstairs and meowed to be let out the door.

Now, that may seem like fairly routine cat behaviour but what intrigued me is that this upstairs, nosey behaviour is rare for my little cat.  I am convinced she suspected that there had been a change in the household.  And she wanted to confirm her suspicions. My son left home on Monday, to go flatting ( share an apartment with friends), for the first time. He hasn’t completely deserted us but the cat , I am sure, was aware of the change in her human brother’s routines and wanted to know what was going on.

Ah, sweet little Zoe; she doesn’t miss a thing. She knows every inch of her territory and who comes and who goes and when they come and go as well.

Here she is all ears All ears

in one of her favourite waiting and watching placesCan you see me watching you?

The sheepskin she is lying on has been in our home since the day my son was born. It is very, very worn but I couldn’t bear to part with it, so, this week,  I gave it  another a few months of life as a comforter for Zoe’s old bones.

“And though they are with you, yet they belong not to you.
You may give them your love but not your thoughts.
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.
You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.” Kahlil Gibran

© silkannthreades

16 thoughts on “Where did my brother go?

  1. Pingback: The case of the missing socks | silkannthreades

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That baby sheepskin was well used over the years. But the wash I gave it the other day was the final straw. Our other sheepskin from baby days is still in use; usually on a chair.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I think she is about 13 years old, maybe a little older. I call her my cat but really she decides each day where she wants to be. Sometimes she prefers the neighbour’s house!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thanks. She always amazes me with her knowing ways. Another curiosity; have you ever seen adult cats mewing conversationally with each other the way they do with humans? I don’t think I have.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

