Here and There

I am feeling weary after yesterday’s heat, so, today, I am only going to post some quiet, soothing photos without the noise of too many words.

This is the carpet thyme and chamomile  forest by my vegetable box.Thyme and Chamomile Forest

Chamomile beacon;Light up my life

Thyme for Chamomile Tea?Thyme for Tea

Nope, not quite yet, because we are off to McLeans Forest on McLeans Island where the strange, eerie whisperings of the pine trees surround us.Pine Forest

The scent of the pines and the songs of the birds are sweet but there is something about the sounds in a pine forest  that raise the hairs on the back of my neck; time to head home

Cone

to the homegrown, simple serenity of my zinnias.Zinnias

© silkannthreades

17 thoughts on “Here and There

  1. lautal

    When there is a snow and freeze behind the window it is really nice to see summer on the screen. Thank you for sharing your warm and sunny pictures.

    Reply
  2. leapingtracks

    How spooky! Your post and later comments make me think of those fabulous C19th gothic novels and the like (eg The Woman in White) where beauty is not necessarily all it seems!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Spooky for me. I don’t know why I feel uneasy in pine forests; I think, perhaps, I should blame the female in red “Little Red Riding Hood”. Or maybe Hansel and Gretel. Fairy tales have a lot to answer for:)

      Reply
  3. pleisbilongtumi

    I am curious to know what the sound from the pine forest was. You supposed to capture the dark pine trees with wind blown foliage and haunting trail where you heard the sounds. Second picture from the last is pretty!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I was too nervous to go far along the trail 🙂 The noise comes from the wind blowing through the trees. It is hard to describe. Like someone is whispering behind you but when you turn to look no one is there. Silly me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

