From this to bliss

Some years ago, in pre-earthquake times, our city council reinvented our recycling collection system and suggested that we reuse our old recycling bins for other purposes e.g. garden containers. Ever willing to be the responsible, greenie citizen I did as suggested. I not only recycled my own bin but I also managed, for a miniscule cost, to obtain other folks’ unwanted containers from the recycling centre. I have at least 8 of these sturdy recycled, recycling bins. Not all of them are in use at the one time and not all are used for plants. One is serving a useful purpose as a comfortable day bed for the cat. This, of course, is not the cat but Jack the dog, wishing he were a cat. (He finally realised that he didn’t fit the bill or the bed) Jack who would be Cat

As for the other bins  re-purposed lives; I have had mixed success, in past years, with planting in the containers. This season, I have flowers in some and potatoes in others and zucchini and nasturtiums in another. Today, I harvested one of the containers of potatoes and I was thrilled with the harvest.

This is the  potato growing containerRecycled Bin

and this is the container of new potatoes. Spuds pure and simple

They look slightly second class, like their home of the past few months, but we ate most of them for dinner tonight; boiled, with a little salmon on the side. They were bliss. There is nothing more delicious (chocolate excepted) than a new potato more or less straight from garden to plate.

© silkannthreades

20 thoughts on “From this to bliss

    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am pleased to hear it.Spuds keep us strong and sturdy. Jack is completely zonked right now because we have had 30deg temps today. We went for a walk at 9pm and it was still hot even then.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Haven’t tried tires yet mainly because I haven’t managed to get hold of any. I have done spuds in a bucket, a bag, in the ground; all with varying degrees of success. It’s great to have the shops for back-up food supplies 🙂

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      They would be delicious. I had a complete failure with blueberries this year. Not a single berry. The plant looks healthy though so here’s hoping for next season.

      Reply
  1. Clanmother

    I have found that recycling is not as easy as it seems. You need to do a little research to know where to recycle batteries, light bulbs, computers etc! But it is the research that reaps extraordinary benefits. I especially like your term: repurpose…

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Yes, it is a very complex issue. Our Council has good recycling facilities but there is always room to improve. I find batteries (the small ones) the hardest to deal with.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Mmmm…..the earthquakes really don’t have much to do with the recycling. I refer to the earthquakes as a time reference for me. If something happened before Sept 2010 I call it the pre-earthquake era.Does that help?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

