Alone of a Kind

In our gallivanting the other day, we came upon a striking eucalyptus tree, standing immensely tall and alone  in Ray Blank park. When I say alone, I mean alone of its kind. There were other trees around and even another type of eucalyptus but I couldn’t see, during our brief stop, another one like this one.Alone of its Kind

I am not enamoured of gum trees. In fact, I have been wary ,and deeply suspicious, of them ever since a big gum, suddenly and, seemingly inexplicably, came crashing down on to the back yard of my childhood home.  But, I thought this tree, with its silky smooth, pearly gray bark was worthy of a second glance.  It was a big, superbly healthy and beautifully shaped specimenSilky smooth and shapely

but it seemed so lonesome, so solitary; so needy of second glances.

Do trees get lonely? Animals and humans need, and thrive on, companionship. Is it the same with trees? Possibly, for we are all Beings. We, The Beings, may be educated, cultivated, integrated, adapted, adjusted, transported, transposed, uprooted, replanted, codified, modified, mollified, nourished, cherished and made better off, sub divided and classified, but our fundamental desire is to be; to be alongside; to be with and to be held within our own group, gatherings, kind, family or tribe. We want to be where we belong; where we are not alone of a kind.

In its natural habitat, the gum tree grows among many. Undoubtedly, this fine, isolated specimen at Ray Blank park is currently in a much happier place than its relatives across the ditch (The Tasman Sea) who are experiencing the horrors of fire and brimstone. But does it miss, deep in its core, the feathery touch of leaf against leaf, branch on bark, the familiar perfume of fellow beings on the breeze? Who knows but the tree? It  may be superlatively pleased with its solitary existence; ruler of all it surveys. Pleased to be without irritating neighbours and nibbling, scratching wildlife.

But, inspired by the spirit of creaturely communion,  I offered my companionship. I stood close by, lightly caressed the smooth bark and let our breaths mingle. For me, it felt like a  moment of togtherness. Eucalyptus smells good.Be still and know I hope I didn’t smell too weirdly and off-puttingly human! On reflection, we share the same water source so our essential odours are, perhaps, not too dissimilar.

Footnote:

As I stepped away from the tree, I looked down at my feet and saw  markings like this one on the exposed root systems.Imprinting

They reminded me of images of Australia. They seemed to confirm  how deeply imprinted are our roots. ( Sorry; it can’t be helped. Incorrigibility runs in the family.)

© silkannthreades

9 thoughts on “Alone of a Kind

  1. Eugenie

    My dear friend your prose is exquisite you have real talent in expressing murmurs from the depth of you central being . I am tree lover and a tree hugger. I believe trees along with all growing flora and fauna have nature,s feelings every thing growing thing in my garden means something to me. I have natural natureful relationship with the contents of my garden. When a plant dies I grieve, when plant,treeor shrub. Thrives I rejoice when one goes to seed on me like my silver beet I feel frustration and mild anger. Many of the plants in my garden are representations of close to me e.g. The rose “whiskey mac” represents my dear father-in – law whom I took his whisky at 4 pm every day that he lived with us. Loving memory” a gorgeous deep redvelvet rose represents my dear parents, mypretty blue flowered pulamonaria my dear friend Julie who gave me one precious plant and it rapidly spreads on and on I could go. Before closing I must repeat to you several of the captiving bits of your prose e.g. Inspired the act of creature lay communion I offered my companionship,we things may cultivated integrated etc etc. doesit miss in its deep core the feathery touch of leaf to leaf. Lightly caressed the bark and let our breathes mingle. Your are truly sensitive sense fille human being living tenderly tuned in to your natural surroundings. Can you believe it I would lie to answer your opening question. Do trees get lonely….? I believe they do in supernatural dimension. I noyinfrequently wonder human beings retain their sanity in the vast desserts of Egypt the barren mountainous regions of Afghanistan. How do people in these regions keep their nature fed part of their souls nourished.?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am glad we share a common feeling for our plants. They are precious and dear to us. Rest assured, the deserts are rich and beautiful in their own way. One small plant of rosemary in a desert landscape has the intensity and beauty of 10 in my garden. Some of my happiest moments have been in the desert.

      Reply
  2. kiwiskan

    Eucalyptus trees have great bark. I’ve always thought that the exotic trees in the Canterbury are the best in New Zealand. They never seem to grow as sturdy anywhere else. (I confess I have been known to hug trees as well)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The bark is fascinating. Some of our exotic trees are very old and probably reasonably sturdy because the climate allows them to grow more slowly than elsewhere. Hugging trees is fun.

      Reply
  3. Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    very beautiful post! i think our opinion – if a tree is lonely or not – depends on our state of mind at the time; if one feels strong and stoic, then the tree represents the same. if we’re feeling a bit vulnerable, the we might think the tree feels alone. ir’s our mirror — or not!

    i am glad that you acknowledged its presence; i like to do the same, and it’s like greeting a good friend!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That is certainly a good point. I shall go by again one day and see if I feel that the tree is strong and stoic. And I can greet it again like an old friend 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

