“All whom space and time divide…..”

From my previous post you will know that I recently visited St Andrew’s at Rangi Ruru. Whilst I was standing outside the church, contemplating its history and admiring its present, seamless integration in to the school environment, a long forgotten song burst into my head space.

Rangi Ruru let us sing.
Voice and heart re-echoing.
All whom space and time divide,
Still in Love are at our side,

Full stop. That was all I could remember of a song sung many times, many years ago. But it was enough to stop me in my tracks and let out an internal “Ah yes, ah yes, I finally understand what those words mean!”  As a youngster, I enjoyed singing them but they didn’t make much sense. All alone, in the tree-lined school garden adjacent to the church, I was suddenly very aware of pupils and staff, past and present, and still to come. I was atuned to all those who had shared, still share and will share an education, learning and friendships on that small piece of land, in buildings both old and new, and in between.

Yesterday, in the early evening, the song re-echoed in another educational sphere. I was at a reunion of sorts and found myself conversing with an older woman. We discovered that we had almae matres in common, right down to the same college at one of them. Then, we discovered our connections went further; back to the school where I was standing but a few days ago. There we were, side by side, divided by years, by experiences over many years and yet, somehow, bonded by a few square metres of this earth in Merivale. Introducing me to another guest, she amusingly said that I had been following behind her through the years. I think behind is the correct word. She was, and is, a trail blazer, with academic and intellectual gifts that leave me awe-struck. I am  a speck of space dust in her comet!  Be that as it may, I am amazed that we came into contact at all.

I now return to the starting point of this post, St Andrew’s at Rangi Ruru; and then a little to the side to the garden that links church with school.  Is it a garth, almost?Orb GardenIn the middle of the garden there is a glorious sculputured orb. This is Orb Seed by Rebecca Rose.Orb SeedInner OrbOrb Seed ExplainedIt is, I feel, yet another expression of my educational experiences and their profound influence over time to my present place in the journey of life.

Phew; that was a long post for me!

9 thoughts on ““All whom space and time divide…..”

  1. Clanmother

    Your song was sonbeautiful that I had to find the rest:

    Rangi Ruru let us sing.
    Voice and heart re-echoing.
    All whom space and time divide,
    Still in Love are at our side,
    Join to give thee thanks and praise
    For our joyous youthful days.
    Lord we offer Thee our praise
    For thy blessing on our ways,
    Still Thy guidance and Thy love
    Over all our living move,
    May our wide sky shelter stand
    Loved and honoured thro? the land

    Reply
  2. Clanmother

    Your song was son beautiful that I had to find the rest:

    Rangi Ruru let us sing.
    Voice and heart re-echoing.
    All whom space and time divide,
    Still in Love are at our side,
    Join to give thee thanks and praise
    For our joyous youthful days.
    Lord we offer Thee our praise
    For thy blessing on our ways,
    Still Thy guidance and Thy love
    Over all our living move,
    May our wide sky shelter stand
    Loved and honoured thro? the land

    Reply

Leave a Reply

