Eating Rocks

This week I have been experimenting with rock cake recipes, in an attempt to recreate the rock cakes I remember from my childhood. So far, I haven’t made any replicas but I finally settled on the old Edmonds recipe for Rock Cakes, as a suitable compromise. The recipe is basic and easy and economical. Rock CakesWhen I was a child I puzzled about why these cakes were called rock cakes. I thought it had something to do with their texture because, after a couple of days , they were sometimes as hard as rocks. Usually, they were all eaten before that could happen. It was not until my more senior years that I finally ‘twigged’ that the rock in rock cakes refers to their shape.

10 thoughts on “Eating Rocks

  1. leapingtracks

    I’m so glad you’ve cleared this one up for me – I always thought they were called rock cakes because of a hard exterior too – it has always put me off eating them!!! I will now search out a recipe….

    Congrats on the 2012 award by the way – very well deserved 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. Hope you find a recipe. I didn’t like to put the recipe on my post in case of copyright issues. I can assure you these rock cakes are soft and delicious.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      These ones don’t look very much like the ones my mother made. Do they look like the rock cakes you remember?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

