Lovely, leafy St James Park

St James Park is an old fashioned kind of park, with tree canopied pathways and a large central area of grass. It is leafy. It is lovely. That’s all there is to it ….almost.

All the trees survived the earthquakes, as most other trees did throughout the city. They remained upright, unlike many of our buildings. There must be lessons to be learned in their leafy loveliness.  (Oops, that’s a lot of unintended alliteration but I am not going to delete it because alliteration is ridiculously good fun.)  Lessons about foundations, natural and harmonious proportions and resilient building materials, to mention a few.

The  lovely treesThe leafy shadeThe pathThe canopySigns of age and timesFinally, a bit of treeckery
The horizontal branches of this tree were so long and straight that from a certain angle I could make them look like individual, upright trees. Fun.

5 thoughts on “Lovely, leafy St James Park

  1. leapingtracks

    I am reminded of theTao Te Ching – there are many translations of course, but in mine, the 22nd verse starts ‘The flexible are preserved unbroken. The bent become straight.’

    I absolutely love trees. I love touching them and making a connection. My family think I am mad 🙂

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Perfect quote for the photos. I love trees too and it’s not mad to touch them or make a connection. I have been known to hover my hands over foliage to see if I could feel a life force. 🙂 Don’t know if I did.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Glad you felt that way. I am trying to give the photos that “being there” feeling so that my family overseas can feel they are experiencing Christchurch with me. It was so lovely at the park this afternoon that I didn’t want to leave.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

