Moments of whimsy

When my house flowers are past their use-by date, I usually put them in the compost bin. Last week, I decided they were still too pretty to compost so I set them floating in the bird bath. The water bath revitalised the flowers and the floating flowers revitalised my spirits. Not sure what they did to the birds; created consternation and confusion most likely. The cat, who sometimes likes to drink from the bird bath, probably doesn’t appreciate the flavoured water either. Poor creatures; what they have to put up with because of my moments of whimsy.

Rose and Peony Water

Refreshed

14 thoughts on “Moments of whimsy

  1. Pingback: You can’t keep a good peony down | silkannthreades

  2. leapingtracks

    Wonderful! I like the idea of the birds and the cat taking time out from being bitter enemies to have a conversation about you: ‘oh my, she’s really flipped this time’; ‘yes I know, look what she’s done to the bird bath’; ‘we can’t wash our feathers!’; ‘and I can’t have a sneaky drink pretending I’m not watching you guys’; ‘don’t you go thinking we don’t know what you’re up to now’….. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      You have that absolutely right. I am quite sure that’s exactly what they say. Perhaps that explains the bird droppings on my washing this afternoon!

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Thank you. I was wondering about adding some floating candles to the bird bath. It would look lovely at night.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

