Old Faithfuls

I made peanut brownie biscuits this afternoon. I hadn’t made them since before the year dot. I was apprehensive. However, I used a tried and true recipe from my faithful old friend, the 1967 edition of the Edmonds Cookery Book, and no biscuit could have turned out finer.

My Edmonds Cookery Book has been with me to almost every corner of the world. It looks well travelled ……. and  even  well chewed, which seems appropriate for a cookery book.

No need to chew paper today; here’s a few biscuits from the batch.

Something else I did today that I haven’t done since before the year dot; I licked the mixing bowl clean – not literally, I used a spoon and licked that clean.  Delicious fun.

9 thoughts on “Old Faithfuls

  1. Steve Schwartzman

    Two differences between English in America and New Zealand.

    1) Just as in my wife’s Philippine English, a biscuit for you is what a cookie is in the United States.

    2) I’d never heard or read the expression “the year dot”, but I understood it by context and also because in the United States we say “the year zero”.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      How intriguing re “the year dot”. I didn’t realise it was specifically English English and I don’t even know how we came by that expression.

      Reply
  2. Travelling Kiwi

    have an Edmonds Cookbook that looks very like that one – except the spine is held together with shiny brown packing tape. I like it because it tells me how to do very simple things that I probably should have known (but don’t). I think if the Edmonds Cookbook isn’t already a National Treasure, it should be made one.
    Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I agree completely. My copy is bound with sellotape. Bookbinders would frown. It is interesting to compare this old version with more modern editions. The modern editions take the old recipes and add extra sugar and butter and eggs which are obviously quite unnecessary because the old original thrifty recipes work just fine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

