In Dreams begin Responsibilities*

A little while back  Sophia Stuart (and her virtual self teamgloria  )  walked away from the fast lane……

Walking away from the fast lane

Walking away from the fast lane

which must explain why I found her/them, last week, at a small post shop in quiet, suburban Christchurch.

In the quiet suburbs

In the quiet suburbs

I was very surprised to see her there (that’s me in the window, not her), because we are awfully far away from her home in Los Angeles. But there she was, and she had obviously travelled very s l o w l y, possibly by sea, because her departure date was stamped November, and, even in our little backwater, it is already December ;). Because it is such a long way from over there, in the Northern Hemisphere,  to here, however one travels, and because teamgloria ** is one of my best blogging friends, I thought it only polite to invite  tg’s** who-she-is-in-real life-persona, Sophia, home for a spot of tea. So I scooped her up (she does say she is small) and home we went.  Sophia is used to driving about in a perfectly silver Prius but our transportation, though silver, is more modest :)…. a tiny Echo aka motoka kiwikiwi.

Since I was not expecting guests, I  had only a simple cup of tea (rooibos, it was)  to offer, but I was sure Sophia wouldn’t mind. So, once home, I gathered up the  tea-tray  and

Tea Tray for Sophia

Tea Tray for Sophia

a  favourite shawl (Sophia likes shawls)  which, long, long ago, was loomed by the  loving  hands of gentle women in far Nepal,

Cloth of silken threads

Cloth of silky cotton threads

and spread a small picnic tea for the two of us,  in the late afternoon  shade of the sweet-scented, summer roses.

In the shade of the roses

In the shade of the roses

Isn’t it a lovely setting for a cup of tea?  Take a closer look  and enjoy talking to Sophia as much as I did. I hope you can see her, though :)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you think I am being a little too fanciful, (and I am, just a little), think deeply on  the serendipity of this. In the morning, before I met Sophia at the post shop, I read this, about beauty and dreams and cloths, in my book of daily poetry: our encounter was, I think,  meant to be……

He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

William Butler Yeats
Now, most everyone says that this is a love poem and most everyone
is, no doubt, right, but I am NOT everyone, and, for me, these words
speak of the gloriousness that is created, and the life that is lit,  loved
and well-lived, when we cherish and respect and take responsibility
for our   dreams: all dreams;
your dreams, my dreams, the dreams of city dweller, suburban home
maker and  the gentle weaver of Kathmandu……..
(Phew! All ‘that’ from a cup of tea and a magazine :D)
© silkannthreades
A loose thread
99 thoughts on “In Dreams begin Responsibilities*

  1. Pingback: Confession! | silkannthreades

  2. Gede Prama

    visit, read the article and thanks for posting your article is quite good and we hope that all our friends all success and thank you all, greetings Merry Christmas and a blessed New Year to you and yours. :)

    Reply
  3. Clanmother

    I have been away from blogging for a few days finalizing a work project. Coming by your place always set my mind at rest. You have a remarkable gift of hospitality. :) Plus your photos belong in that magazine!

    Reply
  4. jaggh53163

    What a lovely afternoon. I enjoyed it, you see, as a little bird in your rose bushes… the scent of the flowers almost made me delirious… the shawl felt so silky smooth under my feet… the colors in your china were soft and restful… I felt the warm sun on my back… a truly delightful experience. Thank you for the day-dream.

    Reply
  5. lagottocattleya

    Lovely setting and the thought of you and tea and rose petals…I think we all would have liked to join in! I could bring my boys too…but I guess they would totally ruin this party…I wish you a peaceful and pleasant week.

    Reply
  6. Tracy Rhynas

    Wow, that piece of poetry brings back some memories! My first ‘serious’ boyfriend wrote that in a valentines card to me many moons ago. He claimed that he wrote it himself and I being a naïve 17 year old, believed him!!! :-)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      That story has me grinning from ear to ear. He must have been quite a guy a) to know the poem and b) to be bold enough to say he wrote it. Such style! Hope you still have the card :)

      Reply
      1. Tracy Rhynas

        I do indeed still have the card – it has a picture of mystical dragons on it, not your typical valentines card! And he did have style – he turned up to my 18th birthday party, which was at home, in a tux – James Bond eat your heart out :-)

        Reply
  7. Pingback: tea in NZ while registering scripts in Los Angeles #veryModern | teamgloria

  8. Mélanie

    long story, short: Freud would totally agree… :-) wonderful post, as usually! friendly thoughts from Toulouse, France, “old Europe”! cheers and my very best, Mélanie

    Reply
  9. melodylowes

    I’m just a wee bit jealous. In my mind, I am sitting there having tea and flipping idly through your magazine, rather than plugging in my car and letting it run for 15 minutes so that I can bear the cold of the seats. Ahem! :) Very, very lovely is that mind and imagination – keep just a bit of the wonder, will you?

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      :( such chill……assuredly there is a warm place here for you, if only in my imagination. Of course, if you were here in reality you would not be entirely idle. I would have to set you to work composing beautiful poems about my roses :)

      Reply
        1. melodylowes

          You know, you’re so right. Imagine the benefits to your overall health, doing something always pleasant and invigorating. The cost savings for our governments would be unbelievable!

  10. Ellen Grace Olinger

    Lovely post. I thought of the Yeats poem this weekend too, and posted the last line in a comment at The Haiku Foundation. For me the meaning was about how we share feedback as writers with one another.

    Reply
        1. Gallivanta Post author

          Oh thank you. I have found the Haiku Maven and your comment. An interesting situation being discussed. Also loved seeing the word “chapbook”. I didn’t know it was still in use.

        1. Gallivanta Post author

          There would be other delicacies suitable for a high tea. At this time of the year our berry stalls are laden with the most gorgeous fruit. Am about to buy some cherries.

  11. Mrs. P

    I think I interpreted it the same way you do…”I have spread my dreams under your feet;
    Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.”

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Serious poetry analysis has always scared me because sometimes I can’t see what the ‘experts’ see, but ,in my older age, I have decided to just make up my own mind and never mind if it’s not the standard interpretation.

      Reply
  12. womanseyeview

    Perfect post for a cold Sunday morning here in the great white north! I enjoyed your interpretation of Yeats poem as much as the poem itself…on a more pedestrian level your slide show function is very clever.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am sure you would sometimes rather have white rose petals falling than white snow flakes :) Glad you like the slide show. They are fun. I think you will find a slide show function in your media settings.

      Reply
  13. tiny lessons blog

    Beautiful! I’m sure Sophia liked the stylish tea assembly as much as you liked her company! The white roses in your garden are gorgeous! They remind me of my grandparents’ gardens, both had these huge bushes of white roses. I still remember the fragrance in the air :)

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The roses are just wonderful at the moment and the fragrance is divine. I open the doors to the garden and the scent of the roses wafts in to the house. It’s glorious. And my little dog loves to go out and lie on the rose petals under the roses. He thought at first that I put the shawl out for him too :) Your grandparents’ gardens must have been lovely.

      Reply
  14. KerryCan

    Well! What an amazing post! I love how fanciful and sly it is and, yes, you got a LOT from that tea and magazine! And I don’t understand Yeats either but I love reading him anyway!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Glad you enjoyed the ‘flights of fancy” ;) I wonder if you managed to link to the site of the Dhaka weavers with their beautiful textiles. Apparently, one can host tea parties in the US to raise funds for the weavers. Glad you can join me in loving Yeats without full understanding. For me, poetry is often about the feeling and the sound rather than the meaning.

      Reply
  15. utesmile

    It sounds so wonderful, the cup of tea in your rose petalled garden in the sunshine. All beautifully calm and beautiful. One day I shall join you, have to make shure I meet you in the postoffice… and I love a cup of roibos tea especially when it is presented so beautifullly with roses on the tray. As I need to slow my pace too ( I am a bit stressed out by things at the moment) this is the perfect thing for me. Already reading this beautiful post makes me calm and happy, thank you so much!

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      The post office is a good place to meet :) Our little local post shop is always full of interest and I like going there. The owner is always helpful. I posted your bookmark from there, by the way. I am sorry you are stressed; sending more calm, happy thoughts your way.

      Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      Jack tried to invite himself. It’s a wonder his tail or ears aren’t in the photos. He was very curious. Zoe didn’t show up which is very unusual. She usually loves to check on what I am doing in the garden.

      Reply
  16. Juliet

    I’m sure Sophie must have felt very welcomed with a tea party amidst the roses. Yeats is a favourite poet of mine and I have long loved the piece you quote.

    Reply
    1. Gallivanta Post author

      I am just getting to know poetry, including Yeats. I find some poetry, like this piece, breathtakingly beautiful, even if I don’t fully understand it. But then does anyone? Perhaps not even the writer sometimes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

